2017 President's Excellence Award Winners

Posted in News Story

At the third annual President’s Excellence Awards, University Staff and AAP individual employees and team members were honored for demonstrating excellence and making a difference to the benefit of both the university and the surrounding community.

The award distinguishes individuals and team those who have made strides to advance the university in strategic and unique ways, and who serve as exemplary role models to their peers.

The award recognized winners on the merits of:

  • Performance that has clearly demonstrated a commitment to excellence — above and beyond the normal requirements of the position — that has inspired excellence in others and is worthy of special recognition;
  • Service Excellence that has enhanced the quality of life or work for students, faculty and/or staff;
  • Operational Efficiencies that have resulted in increased productivity or measurable savings;
  • Extraordinary Leadership that has influenced or accelerated positive change;
  • Innovation that has improved educational, administrative or other operational processes, and;
  • Creative Initiatives that have led to increased collaboration and respect between and among diverse members of the University community.

Below is the list of the President’s Excellence Award winners. Congratulations to all of you and thank you for your dedication and commitment to Georgetown University.

Individual Winners

Winner Position School/Department
Kennisha Austin Director of the J.D. Externship Program Georgetown University Law Center
Jane Banister  Director Hoya Kids Learning Center
Gina Bleck  Assistant Vice President University Facilities
Robert Brokaw  Associate Dean Student Financial Services
Kristen Consolo  Chief of Staff and Senior Administrative Officer School of Continuing Studies
Leon Der  Technical Shop Supervisor Department of Physics
Susan Douglass Education Outreach Coordinator Center for Contemporary Arab Studies
Jessica Gershuny  Director of Admissions Center for Security Studies
Sarah Halpren-Ruder  Sexual Assault Response Team Coordinator Georgetown University Police Department
Richard Pike  Associate Director, Information Technologies Graduate School of Arts and Sciences
Kristen Rogers  Assistant Director Main Campus Office of Academic Appointments
Rachel Rubin  Director, International Student and Scholar Services Office of Global Services
Whitney Tate  Director of Programs Georgetown University Initiative on Innovation, Development and Evaluation
Joelle Wiese Associate Vice President Auxiliary Services
Individual Winners

Team Winners

Team Winner Positions
OCR-Web Accessibility Emma Craswell  Director of Web Services, University Information Services
Joshua Dermott Associate Counsel, Office of General Counsel
Stephen Fernie Web Services Coordinator, Digital Services and Technology Planning
Joni Halabi Javascript Front-End Developer, Web Services
Christopher Jewell Director of Systems Development Information Systems Technology
Rachel Pugh Senior Director for Strategic Communications, Office of Public Affairs
Shantae Robinson Director of Counseling, Technology, and Student Employment, Student Financial Services
Alayna Ruberg Web Project Manager, University Information Services
Richard Simon Director of Digital and Web Strategy Communications, Georgetown University Law Center
Laura Wilson  Senior Director of Digital Engagement and Social Media, Office of Public Affairs
IT/AV at Georgetown University Law Center Laura Addiego Prospero Web Application Developer, Georgetown University Law Center Library
Chukwudi Aninye Director of Technology Operations, Information Systems Technology
Christopher Ballantyne Instructional Technologist, Information Systems Technology
Kyle Benardos Multimedia Systems Engineer, Information Systems Technology
Daniel Cannistra Multimedia Technologist, Information Systems Technology
Steven Eckhoff Director of AV/TV Services, Information Systems Technology
Tanya Heffel Director of Client Services, Information Systems Technology
Albert Myers Manager of Online Education and AV Systems, Information Systems Technology
George Petasis Assistant Dean for Technology and Chief Information Officer, Georgetown University Law Center
Team Winners